Thanksgiving & Christmas - Reisverslag uit Rockville, Verenigde Staten van Marieke Scheerooren - WaarBenJij.nu Thanksgiving & Christmas - Reisverslag uit Rockville, Verenigde Staten van Marieke Scheerooren - WaarBenJij.nu

Thanksgiving & Christmas

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marieke

30 December 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Rockville

Hiii!

I'm already 5 months here, in Rockville. That means that I'm on the half of my trip. The time is going so fast, it's crazy.
I celebrated thanksgiving for the first time. (It's an national holiday in American, the pilgrims came to America and celebrated by having a feast with some Native Americans in the areas that helped them to get food.) My host mom made so much food, more then we eat at home for Christmas. We went to her family, to be together and eat some food. After that we went home and started to ate a lot of food at home with the family. At 5 p.m Kim and I left to go Black Friday shopping. This is one crazy American thing. I've never saw so many people running and fighting for something. No kidding, I really saw people fighting for a toy.. Kim and I went shopping for 14 hours, when we went to menards at 5 a.m And I was exhausted we waited for almost 2 hours with 1000000 other people in a row, waiting till the store was getting to open. I've no idea how my host mom does it. Black Friday shopping is fun! But for a Dutch girl this was a real challenge.
I also celebrated Christmas here What is different back home. I mean we have a Christmas tree, and sometimes we put some little presents underneath it. But not as they do here. Wauw. It's like the same as sinterklaas. Only you see your presents for 1/2 weeks underneath the tree. I got so many awesome presents. But if that was not enough I got a special present; my letter jacket!!!!!! ( on every school they got a letter jacket, all different of course so you can recognize from which school you are) you get this if you have enough sport points. As an exchange student you'll never get enough points in one year, so at my school as an exchange student you can buy one. I'm unbelievable happy with myn.
With Christmas we've played secret santa twice. One time with my hostmoms family, I tried to understand it but No. I had No idea what I had to do. So when the game was over I asked my hostdad: what do I need to do now? Nothing the game is over is what he said, Haha. Last week we played it again with, I think 20 people, I finally understand the game. We played it for 2 and a half hours. It was so much fun!! I'll come back next year to play it with them again.
I hope Everyone had a Merry Christmas, and will have a happy new year.

Love,
Marieke

  • 30 December 2015 - 20:30

    Maria:

    Voor Secret santa twice hoef je niet perse terug naar Amerika, ja mag het ook bij mij spelen

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Rockville

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

03 Juni 2016

The end

30 December 2015

Thanksgiving & Christmas

08 November 2015

100 days in the USA!

06 Oktober 2015

Day 69

07 September 2015

One month in America
Marieke

Exchange student in America

Actief sinds 21 Juli 2015
Verslag gelezen: 227
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3175

Voorgaande reizen:

21 Juli 2015 - 31 December 2015

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: